- Start immediately
- Finish all at once or come and go on your schedule
- Retake test until you pass
- Come and go on your schedule
- Automatic reporting to DMV
Drug and Alcohol Test Details
DATA = Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness. All drivers getting a Florida Learners Permit or first drivers license in FL are required to take the DATA course.
This course is also known as TLSAE - Traffic Laws Substance Abuse Education. The DATA course is also known as the Drug and Alcohol Test. It is a 4 hour course with a 40 question test at the end.
This course teaches you how drugs, alcohol, prescription drugs and a variety of substances can effect your ability to drive safely.
Teenagers getting their learners permit can take the Drug and Alcohol Test starting at age 14 (we recommend 14 1/2).
Rules for Driving with a Learners Permit
Florida has restrictions on when you can drive with your Learners Permit and your Drivers License until you are 18 years old. Florida calls it Graduated Licensing.
The DMV Test - also known as the Permit Test - must be passed by anyone getting their first drivers license in Florida.
Information about the Florida Permit Test:
- Questions50 - Multiple Choice and True / False
- Time Allowed 60 minutes (single session)
- Passing Grade 40 correct or 80%
- Difficulty Not easy, you must prepare
- Start immediately
- Results automatically transmitted to DMV
- Save time at the DMV
- Not available online to anyone 18 or older
To pass the Permit Test you must get 40 questions correct out of 50. The Questions are drawn from a pool of approximately 800 so it is important to prepare. Our Study guide will teach you important driving laws and safe driving concepts and highlight the areas students typically struggle with.
- Higher chance to pass DMV Test on first try
- Covers all the subjects included in the DMV test
- Highlights typically difficult areas
Florida Learner's Permit
In Florida you can get your Learners Permit at age 15 and millions of teenagers get their permit every year. 123Driving.com provides the required DATA course (Drug and Alcohol Test) as well as the DMV written test you must complete. You can take the DATA course at age 14 and the DMV Test at age 14 1/2 and you can take them in any order.
What People Ask about Florida Learners Permit
Does everyone have to take the DATA Course - AKA Drug and Alcohol Test?
Anyone getting their first drivers license in Florida including teens getting their learners permit or adults getting their first drivers license must take the DATA course
What is the DATA Course - Drug and Alcohol Test?
Officially known as Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education, the Drug and Alcohol Test teaches you how drugs (illegal and prescription), alcohol, your mood, and even lack of sleep, effect your ability to drive safely. This is important because so many traffic accidents are caused by drivers that are either driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or drivers that are unable to focus on driving because of their mood or lack of sleep.
Is there a test at the end of the DATA Course?
Yes, when you have completed the required sections there is a 40 question test and you must get 32 correct. The test is not difficult if you pay attention to the course materials and you can take the test over until you pass it.
How long is the DATA Course?
The total time you are required to spend in the Drug and Alcohol Test is 4 hours. The course is organized in sections and each section has a required amount of time you must spend before you can advance to the next section. Using your username and password you can login and logout when you want. You could do the entire course all at once or take a few days or weeks - it's up to you.
Will I get a certificate when I finish the DATA course?
When you finish the Drug and Alcohol Course your completion information is electronically transmitted to the DMV. Certificates are not accepted by the DMV for the DATA course therefore you will not receive one.
What do I do after I finish the Drug and Alcohol Test?
Prepare for the Permit Test. The Permit Test is 50 questions and you must pass it to get your Learners Permit in Florida.
Can I take the Permit Test before the Drug and Alcohol Test?
Yes you can take the Permit Test and Drug and Alcohol Test in any order.
Can I log in and out of the Permit Test
No, once you start the Permit Test you must complete it in a single 60 minute session.
Will I get a certificate for the Permit Test?
When you finish the Permit Test your completion information is electronically transmitted to the DMV. Certificates are not accepted by the DMV for the Permit Test therefore you will not receive one.