How to do Traffic School in Florida
So you got a ticket. If your first reaction is what should I do read on. We put together this easy step-by-step guide to walk you
through "How to Do Traffic School in Florida"
Note: This is a general guide for working with the County Clerks in Florida to take traffic school.
We are adding guides for each county so check our list.
Benefits of Traffic School
There are four benefits to taking traffic school:
- Points will not be recorded on your license
- Keep your safe driver status (if applicable)
- By not getting points your insurance should not go up
Note: These four benefits apply to non-criminal traffic infractions such as speeding and other tickets. You may be required to take traffic school in other situations to keep your license.
Before we get started let's make sure you are eligible - that you can do traffic school based on the State of Florida rules.
Are you Eligible?
You are eligible if:
- You have NOT elected to attend a traffic school course in the past twelve (12) months, or five (5) times in your lifetime.
- You have a valid Florida Drivers License
Out of State License Holders:
You should contact the Department of Highway Safety in your state before signing up for traffic school to verify that the withholding of points will be honored in your state.
- Write down your Citation (ticket) number or make a copy of your ticket
- Within 30 days of recieving your ticket - Pay your Reduced Fine and inform the Clerk of Court that you intend to take traffic school.
Include your citation number on your check or mail in your ticket (Some counties want the yellow original).
To "Inform" the clerk you typically:
- Include a form indicating you are electing to take traffic school
- Pay a reduced fine
Some counties (Brevard for example) do not require a form. By paying the reduced fine the county automatically assumes you
are taking traffic school.
Confused? Read Notes Below.
Form - most clerks of court (click here for a list) have a form called an "Affidavit" on their
website in the forms section that you use to inform the clerk.
Reduced Fine - Many clerks of court have a table on their website that tells you the reduced fine you are required
If you cannot find the form or the reduced fine amount call the clerk of the court to
confirm their procedure.
Sign up for the Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course
Go to www.123driving.com on the Internet or call 1-888-272-1493 and sign up for the "Basic Driver Improvement"
course. You have a choice to take the course on the Internet or home Video/DVD.
Complete Your Traffic School Course
You can take your time and complete the Traffic School in chapters (come and go). You have 60 or 90 days to complete your traffic school course depending on your county - check
with the clerk to confirm.
Get your Certificate
When you complete your course you decided how to receive your traffic school certificate.
The options are as follows:
Make a copy of your Traffic School Certificate
Mail or Drop off Certificate to the Clerk of the Court
First Class Mail - Free
Email - $9.95
UPS Overnight or 2nd day - price determined by your location
We will automatically mail your FL traffic school certificate to you.
Note: You have from 60 to 90 days (depending on the county)
from the date of your election to take traffic school to send in the certificate. Also, some counties allow you to fax in your certificate.
See our list of guides for each county
DO NOT MISS THE DEADLINE!
Questions? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
or call 1-888-272-1493.
Disclaimer: The Florida Drivers Association is not associated with
the state of Florida or any Count Clerk of Court and recommends
you contact the Clerk of Court office directly to confirm all information