How to Apply for a Florida Hardship License
You are Here: Traffic School » Hardship License - Points
If your Florida drivers license has been suspended for too many points, Florida law allows you to drive to and from work after youve applied for a hardship license. Hereís how it works.
License Suspended For Too Many Points
If you receive two speeding tickets and one moving violation such as rolling through at Stop sign and your drivers license gets 12 points in 12 months, your Florida license will be suspended for 30 days if you have not taken traffic school to avoid the points.
If you receive 18 points in 18 months your Florida drivers license is suspended for three (3) months. And if you reach 24 points in 36 months, youíll lose your license for 12 months.
Applying for a Hardship License
There are two different types of Florida hardship licenses you can apply for at your local drivers license office:
1. Business Purposes Only is stated as “A driving privilege restricted to business purposes only means a driving privilege that is limited to any driving necessary to maintain livelihood, including driving to and from work, necessary on-the-job driving, driving for educational purposes, and driving for church and for medical purposes.”
2. Work Purposes Only states ďA driving privilege restricted to employment purposes only means a driving privilege that is limited to driving to and from work and any necessary on-the-job driving required by an employer or occupation.Ē
To apply for one of the hardship licenses, hereís what you need to do:
First, you must enroll in a 12 hour ADI (advanced driver improvement) course. If you have access to a computer, the fastest and easiest way is online. You can enroll immediately (24/7) and then take the course on your own schedule.
Next, take your receipt or proof of enrollment to a local drivers license office and fill out the application for a Florida hardship license and pay the required fees. At this time, the drivers license office will review and accept your application for hardship license (if all documents and application are satisfactory.) Your Florida hardship license is required during the suspension period.
Lastly, complete the 12 hour advanced driver improvement (ADI) course within 90 days and turn in your Certificate of Completion. The online course allows you to take the course on your own schedule and at your own pace. You will also need to take a reinstatement test and pay the reinstatement fee ($35) at the drivers license office.
Avoid Points with Traffic School
The Florida DMV is estimating that close to 30,000 Florida drivers licenses will be suspended in 2007 because of too many points this year.
To avoid points being added to your drivers license, you can complete a 4 hour driver improvement class online. Itís the easiest way to keep points off your license and avoid the suspension all together.