Florida Speeding Ticket Help and Information
If you get a speeding ticket or other moving violation in Florida you don't have to get points on your license. In most cases you have the choice of taking our online traffic school course that Florida has approved statewide. Why take traffic school? Speeding tickets and other moving violations result in points being put on your license. Points can cause your auto insurance to go up. If you get to many points your licensed can be suspended. Let's look at two scenarios.
Traffic School Quick Links:
Signup for Traffic School for a Ticket
Scenario 1 - Pay the Fine get the points
You get a speeding ticket for going 12 MPH over the limit - the result is 3 points
You decide that 3 points is no big deal, pay your fine and forget about it.
A few months later you are speeding and cause an accident - the result is 6 points
Now you have 9 points on your license and are one ticket away from suspension. That means you will be driving 2 MPH under the speed limit for several months and stopping at yellow lights. You'll also have a long line of unhappy drivers behind you.
Note that in Florida if you get 12 points in 12 months your driver's license is suspended for 30 days. Now that may not seem like the end of the world but the cost of your insurance will. Unless you're independently wealthy you will be hitching a ride or taking the bus.
Scenario 2 - Pay the reduced fine, take traffic school, get no points
In this case you decide that taking a course online from home is an easy way to avoid the points. Good thinking.
Sure the course is a total of four hours but you can do it a little at a time on your schedule.
So you signup for our Florida Traffic School course, finish it, and we mail you a certificate.
You send your certificate into the clerk of court in the county where you got the ticket. They close your case assigning you no points. Your insurance does not go up. And since you learned so much from our course you don't cause an accident while speeding. The result is you can drive normally and don't have a line of cars behind you blowing their horns.
This of course is an over simplification but you should think of online traffic school as a $27 get out of jail pass. If you don't use it, you'll probably regret it.
For details check out these links and articles:
Signup for Florida Traffic School
How to complete Traffic School in Florida
Florida Counties (guide to county clerks)
Traffic School Summary
You can take traffic school in Florida 5 times in your life
You can take traffic school only once in a 12 month period
Our online traffic school course is the easiest and most convenient way to complete traffic school
You can complete our courses from any computer or computers
Florida Drivers License Point System - Speeding
Less than 15 MPH over the speed limit - 3 points
More than 15 MPH over the speed limit - 4 points
Speeding resulting in a crash - 6 points
Florida Drivers License Point System - Moving Violation
Moving violoation - 3 points
Moving violoation resulting in a crash - 4 points
Reckless driving - 4 points
Improper lane change- 3 points