You are Here: Traffic School
» Florida Driving Blogs
» Car Insurance
Defensive Driving Adventures
More Driving Logs
August 23, 2005 - Florida Auto Insurance Requirements
Florida has specific auto insurance requirements that you must meet in order to register your vehicle. These car insurance requirements apply as long as you have a valid Florida license plate. The minimum coverage required by the State of Florida is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
Depending on your driving record you may be required to also have bodily injury coverage (BIL). This is usually required if you have been convicted of certain specific offenses or have been involved in a crash. Your insurance policy must be based in Florida and provided by a company licensed by the Florida Department of Insurance.
No Insurance Equals Suspensions
If you drive without the proper insurance the DMV may suspend your license plate, registration, and driving privilege for up to three years. If you are moving to Florida from another state your insurance must be transferred to Florida by your insurance agent or your must purchase a new policy from an Insurance agent licensed in Florida.
Car Insurance Talk
PIP insurance covers losses due to injuries, regardless of who is charged with causing a crash. PIP covers you, relatives that live in your home, and passengers in your car.
BIL (bodily injury insurance) pays for serious injuries, permanent injuries, or deaths caused by a crash in your car.
PDL (property damage liability) is insurance that pays for damages caused by you or members of your family.
Do not drive without auto insurance. Unlike other Florida drivers license suspensions for points, there is no hardship license for a car insurance related suspension.
Recent Driving Logs